Left leaderboard
gareth

Government help

The profit test to qualify for Self Employed Income Support Scheme is: You must have profits below £50,000 AND self-employed profits must be more than half your total taxable income. You can meet that tests in just 2018/19 OR on average of 2016/17, 2017/18, 2018/19....

A bit of a killer for semi pro musos who derive less than half their income from music?

9 minutes ago, Steve Browning said:

Yes. Profits below 50k 🙂

And crucially “profits must be more than half your total taxable income”

My week job pays ok. My gigging is essential to make up the difference, but it isn't half of my income so I'm not eligible! And since my day job is with the NHS, I'm working my derrière off at the moment whilst all my mates have their feet up. 

😡

• Thanks 3

As a full time player and teacher, this is a godsend. 
95% of my work disappeared with a stroke of a pen last week. 
I have been Completely self employed for 15+ years. 
we may have to wait until June, but better late than never. 

• Like 3

6 hours ago, DanOwens said:

And since my day job is with the NHS, I'm working my derrière off at the moment whilst all my mates have their feet up. 

😡

And for that I sincerely thank you. Hopefully when we're through this a far bigger percentage of the nation will be thankful for the NHS rather than slating it at any opportunity. 

• Like 2

14 minutes ago, Maude said:

And for that I sincerely thank you. Hopefully when we're through this a far bigger percentage of the nation will be thankful for the NHS rather than slating it at any opportunity. 

I don't think anyone slates the NHS, just the mismanagement of it. I've never heard anyone say a bad word about frontline staff. If one good thing comes of all this, hopefully it will make the nation realise how vital the NHS is, and stop the government from running it into the ground and selling it off in pieces like they've been doing for the past 10 years. 

• Like 8