Why become a member? ×

Amateur musician vs professional musician: which are you?

peteb

Why "Verses". Its not a knockout competition. Aspirations aside we all do the best we can with the time we have for music. Some have, or chose to prioritise, lots of time for music, others have to fit it in around life. I like to think I am an amateur with a pro attitude. The only way I would have loved to be a pro would have been in a band with my mates playing and recording the music we had writen.  As for a hired hand or a session player, no thank you.

Edited by mikel
Spelling.
  • Like 5

12 minutes ago, Kazan said:

So if he makes more income from his YouTube videos than from playing, is he no longer a "professional musician"?

I think that his argument is that he is and that there are more income streams for pro musicians than just gigs and sessions etc. 

3 minutes ago, peteb said:

I think that his argument is that he is and that there are more income streams for pro musicians than just gigs and sessions etc. 

I believe you're right. I just find him annoying and pedantic. He does make good, if obvious, points. I still believe one can be a pro while having a day job as well (I did 10+ years playing an easy 200 shows a year and had a better paid job that whole time - that was playing professionally despite his definition).

37 minutes ago, chris_b said:

Simplicity is a good lesson to learn. None of the guys I've played with like the "lead" bass player style of playing.

For me, the real difference between guys like me and decent pros is maintaining the consistency that he talks about. Very difficult to do while holding down a full time job. 

8 minutes ago, No lust in Jazz said:

I'll settle for happy musician . . . . . . . .

That's a good, but the point is no one has to "settle" for anything.