Why become a member? ×

P Bass - Pickup Dilemma

PatrickJ

I'm pretty new to the world of Precision style bass ownership, but over the past twelve months I've ended up with 2 Sandberg California II's, a VS4 and a VT4 (I just need a VM4 to achieve the holy trinity). 

sandbergs.thumb.jpg.a648e82b475f8250843dc68d5a986068.jpg

The VT4 has been my go-to bass since I got it but I've recently strung the VS4 with some traditional flats and have been taking it out for some blues jams.    The only thing I'm not loving is the original Sandberg pickup; the oversized poles are not doing it for me so I want to put something more traditional in it.  But fork me there are a lot of P Bass pickup options out there and I'm looking for some advice from the Basschat community on which way to go.

Question 1 would be what are the tonal differences in the P Bass era's; a lot of the pickup brands seem to offer 50's, 60's and 70's voiced options?

Question 2 general recommendations for a p bass swap ? 
     - Custom wound in the UK?
     - The Creamery, Monty's Guitars, Bare Knuckle Pickups and Aaron Armstrong all come up as options.  Any experiences with any of these?

- High End mass produced
     Bass Direct stock a range of Delano, Aguilar & Nordstrand options?   I like the Aguilar's in my J bass, Nordstrands seem to be very popular here. Delano are obviously come in a lot of Sandbergs (incl. my VT4).

- Seymour Duncan
     SD offer  a large range of options.

Any advice greatly appreciated

• Like 1

Your Delano's are hi-fi sounding pickups, which going on what you want is the polar opposite to your needs. To me, it sounds like you want a 'vintage' voiced pickup, so you want alnico pickups, and the Fender custom shop 62 is the best P pickup imho, and my experience.

Others of note would be Lindy Fralin or Aguilar P4-60's.

I would give SD's a miss, the others above are all far superior.

50s and 60s pickups are essentially the same, low to medium output. 70s pickups are higher output.