Why become a member? ×

What E-drum kit for 12 year old?

41Hz

My daughter wants drums for Christmas! 

I don’t know much about them, but I’m assuming an e-drum kit might be a bit better from a noise level point of view. Anyone have any recommendations? I guess I’d be hoping to spend around £200, but could go a bit higher if needed.

Edited by 41Hz

What level is your daughter at? I only ask because in my view  a poor electronic kit is as likely to put someone off playing drums than it is help them develop - much in the same way as a poorly set up bargain basement bass might.

If she’s an absolute beginner, then a cheapo kit might be okay for her to learn the very basics on, but if she’s anything beyond that, it might just prove frustrating. I echo the second hand comment above but IMV you may struggle to get anything remotely decent for your budget, even second hand. Sorry. 

If you have to buy new, and wish to stay roughly within that budget, Gear4Music do a slightly more expensive one (£249) that has mesh on the kettles rather than rubber pads.
For learning to play drums at a budget, I'd go cheap mesh rather than expensive rubber even though a really natural response can't be expected for that price.
But yeah, of course try to find something used first. There should be enough parents who sell their kids' unused instruments.
YMMV.

3 hours ago, mrtcat said:

For that budget I'd be looking for something used. Roland kits might be a stretch but if you can find anything by yamaha you'll not be too far wrong. 

I concour, got my lad an awesome 2nd hand yammy kit for £250, played it a couple of times then sat taking up half his bedroom for 6 months until I sold it for the same amount.. expect something similar

I have had yamaha rubber kits (they bend if you hit them hard) and currently rock a Roland TD30K

I would definitely say go mesh if you possibly can, but anything name brand is better than import stuff.