Why become a member? ×

Aguilar, Ashdown or Genz Benz?

Linus27

Just picked up a wonderful Barefaced Two10 and now considering what head to run with it. The ones on my list so far are the Ashdown RM 500, Aguilar Tone Hammer 500 and a Genz Benz Streamliner. Even considering an Ampeg Portaflex 500. I tend to play a Fender Jazz and my tone is clean, warm, round with a little bit of definition in the tone. I play 50's and 60's rock n roll so lots of walking bass lines. Any thoughts from those who have used or use any of these heads?

Edited by Linus27

I’ve had the RM500, the PF500 and the Tonehammer. For me the RM has much more warmth and depth to the sound, but also due to the - imo - better eq options it can sharpen up better. That said the Tonehammer is a very old-school sounding amp, and the PF500 delivers classic ampeg tones. My preference is the RM but I’d be happy with the TH or PF, only one I’ve no experience with is the Genz. I also found the Barefaced 210 to be quite relaxed on the top end so would make sure the amp I went for had high and high-mid adjustment.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I am a happy user of the Ashdown RM500. I get a lot of compliments on my tone when I use it. The EQ is very powerful.

I had never used the "effects" that come with the amp. However, I have started setting just a little bit of comp and a little bit of Drive and the sound is even more impressive. It's the best Class D amp I have ever tried.

I must say though, that I am also a happy user of the Aguilar Tone Hammer pre amp. I use it when I don't take the amp with me. The EQ is also amazing and very flexible. When I used to use the Aguilar Tone Hammer 500 I was also very happy. I prefer the Ashdown, but just my personal taste.

I have never used the Genz Benz, so I can't comment on this one. You won't get wrong with any of these options.

• Like 1