Why become a member? ×

multi-effect pedal choice

powerplant

sorry double posting from bass talk but I am up for a multi effect pedal and need advice as I can not test the stuff and compare.

I am thinking of treating myself with a multieffext box. I am not a pro player and will use it mostly to noodle with recorded stuff using headphones. I like to play with the sounds and experiment with strings etc. There seems to be three to those from. The things I will use mostly seriously is octaver, OD the looper and possible some revered/sustain type modelling.

Helix: Seams to be the most appreciated, has everything I need but it is an old box the looper is very short. programming looks super easy and a big community of users to ask. I have the feeling that a new version is coming up soon. All versions on sale at thoman and technically it is an old box.

Boss GT1000: with the new update a decent nr of bass amps etc was added. also short looper. Seams much more difficult to program and worse sound compare to helix? no really fans in Europe 

Mooer GE300: Newest and most advanced technically, Company is not as respected or trustworthy compared to line6 or Boss, Smaller (better for me), very few bass specific effects and amps, long looper - possibility to practice whole songs. Software updates most likely coming at least one.

Headruch?

Fractal, many versions, ones are super expensive and designed for multiple instruments pro preforming. The smaller models are affordable though but lacks looper. 

I don't have the possibility to try them out and compare unfortunately. What is the feeling in the BC community about these multi-effects? Are they used among bass players? If I'm wrong in my statements above please correct me,

Edited by powerplant
  • Like 1

Welcome to BC!