Why become a member? ×

Quick studio blog: First studio session as a bass player

Naigewron

Time to get a bit more active here at BassChat :) 

We'll be spending a few weekends in the studio for an album recording. This coming weekend (june 1st and 2nd) we'll be focusing on drums and bass, and I'll be pulling double duty and cover the entire rhythm section for these sessions.

I've been a drummer for 15 years and I'm comfortable in the studio behind a drum kit, and I love studio sessions in general, but this will be my first session as a bass player.

I'm pretty new to bass still (only really played it for about a year), but I feel so at home playing it. I've played guitar for 25 years (only at home, not in a band), so I wasn't exactly starting from scratch when it came to knowing the fretboard, but it's still a different beast.

Our engineer is also a bass player, so I'll have access to a lot of great gear, and he'll presumably also be able to help me out with sugeestions for parts if my stuff isn't working as well as I think they are.

We'll see how it goes. I'll keep this thread updated with pics, clips and experiences if anyone's interested.

To start us off, here's a picture of the studio space - Polyfon Studio in my hometown of Bergen, Norway:
ranzrwJ.png
  • Like 2

Hope all goes well, studio work is great fun, have just spent the last 4 days in the studio recording our 4th album. Still got to mix it but got 15 tracks fully recorded (bass/drums/guitars/lead & backing vox) so are feeling rather pleased with ourselves at the moment.

• Like 2

So the drum and bass sessions are done. Time always flies so fast in the studio. I often envy guitar players, who are allowed to sit there and add layer upon layer of guitar parts, while us rhythm section guys are only allowed a single part per song (usually).