Why become a member? ×

Too much boom in the room!

Marky L

As the title suggests the small room I use for my music is too boomy. From the bass amp to the stereo system. I'm not precious about perfection, nor do I want to spend a lot so I'm wondering what DIY low cost options there are to bring down the boom. Would some foam under the stereo speakers on the desk help a little? Bass traps on the walls (are these just big chunks of foam)?
Thanks

I'm an acoustics nerd and very happy to help with any enquiries about room treatment 🙂

I'm not an expert, but can certainly give you some basic advice that should make a difference. In order to do so I need to know:

1. The dimensions of the room (length/width/height).
  2. Ideally a rough sketch or photos showing the current layout and any furniture in the room. I also need to know where your speakers are positioned and where you are sat/stood when listening.
  3. Is it a dedicated music room, or does it have other uses? This will help to determine how much room treatment can be installed and where.

I can then provide some initial tips to get you started.

Long shot: if you have access to an omnidirectional mic (like one these) I can talk you through the process of taking acoustic measurements using free software. That's the ideal, of course, but we can at least get some of the way there through educated guesswork.

Ideally, post your info here so that others can learn from the process. But if you'd rather share things like room photos in confidence then just send me a PM.

Some things to avoid right from the off...

• Egg boxes, carpets on the wall, using bookcases as diffusors, etc. All proven to be garbage.
  • Acoustic foam. It's does work, but you need lots of it and it's far more expensive than mineral wool. Those foam panels that people glue to their walls just suck the high end out of the room and leave the low end booming. Literally useless. Don't waste your money.
Edited by Skol303

SKol303 will steer you right.