Why become a member? ×

super cheap moving head LED stage lights, anyone?

skidder652003

Anyone tried these super cheap moving head LED lights you can get on ebay for £40 a pop?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2X-70W-LED-Moving-Head-Beam-Light-Stage-Lighting-RGBW-DMX512-For-Party-KTV-Disco/183380356835?epid=7022617647&hash=item2ab2522ee3:g:4MQAAOSw~llcSTAX

We use 3 £10 static LED par can type lights clamped to the FOH speakers, that and a cheapo smoke machine and a Black cloth backdrop looks fine down the dog and duck. They've lasted about 4 years as well no problems. Just fancied a punt on a couple of these and wondered if anyone's had any experience of them?

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I'm curious too. Not that I would buy any. I don't gig, but by profession I'm a lighting engineer. *

I notice they claim a life of 100,000 hours. I doubt that. LEDs lose light output over time. It's a fact. It happens. They might "work" after 100,000 hours, but what will the output be? What is the output on day 1?

What also might happen is the colour can shift. You might find multiple lights will work, turning and changing colour, at different speeds and get out of sync...   But 100,000 hours is a long life of 2 hour sets and maybe getting out of sync is exactly what you need at the Dog 'n' Duck. At £75 you've not got a lot to lose.

* - I design lighting for commercial use. Not stage lighting.

Edited by Grangur

The lifespan on this sort of stuff is usually dictated by the motor giving up... all the transformer giving up the ghost. I suspect 100,000 is optimistic! It'll probably be dropped or mishandled by some stray toddler that thinks it will be fun to push against the mechanism whilst it's in motion (not that I allow anybody near my stuff on stage).

You are probably right though - even my ADJ par cans have differing shades of colour now... but they've seen a lot of use over the last 5 years. They tend to be OK as long as you don't put them too close together!