Why become a member? ×

Returning to playing

Crusoe

Hello all. I'm Gary and I started playing bass around 27 years ago. A friend an I had formed a band with a temporary bassist. His musical interests didn't exactly gel with ours so I moved from vocals to bass. I got my first bass and amp soon after we formed - a Squier Silver Series Jazz bass and a Carlsbro Viper 30W combo, both of which I still have to this day. The band didn't last long and other things took over so I stopped playing for some time until recently when I was clearing out the wardrobe and got the bass and amp out. At first I didn't think the amp was working but somehow I got it kicked back into life and have started practising again. As far as influences go I suppose Steve Harris, John Entwhistle, John Paul Jones, Peter Hook, JJ Burnell all have to be up there.

• Like 2

Welcome! 

If it was in a case you cared about it - unlike one I bought on eBay a few years back (for pennies) which was thick with dust and drips because the guy had given the case to this brother! (Cleaned up nicely 🙂 ) 

It will come back like riding a bicycle, let us know how it goes!

• Like 1

1 hour ago, josie said:

Welcome! 

If it was in a case you cared about it - unlike one I bought on eBay a few years back (for pennies) which was thick with dust and drips because the guy had given the case to this brother! (Cleaned up nicely 🙂 ) 

It will come back like riding a bicycle, let us know how it goes!

It's in pretty good nick. There's a bit of rust on the poles of the pups but it plays fine.

IMG_20190320_201231.jpg

• Like 2

Nice introduction Gary and welcome back to the world of bass, how are you finding it with giving it a break? More passion and interest than before? 

Not too bad equipment as well, pretty much ready to go pro 😉 hahaha Just.... word to the wise, steer clear from the marketplace on here. You'll end up penniless like the rest of us haha.

Welcome to BassChat and I hope you enjoy your stay here.