Why become a member? ×

Sore Fingers

stewblack

This is troubling. My fingers are really quite sore after last night's gig. I don't know if there's a connection but the third finger left hand acquired a nasty puncture wound the day prior to the gig and so I expected that to smart, the hole was precisely where I press onto the string. Do you think it's possible that I played at a slightly awkward angle trying to avoid using that finger or minimise contact to the affected area? If so could this be the cause of my pain today? Obviously I wouldn't know if I was as I don't look at my fingers or think what they're doing while I'm performing.

It's a little worrying as any other weekend I'd be out again today and I would really be struggling. Also I'm no beginner, I practise hours every day and never experience finger tip pain at rehearsals, at home or at gigs. I have a new set of forty songs to get down in about a fortnight and I don't want to exacerbate the problem. Are there any unguents or potions you would recommend to ease my predicament?

Strings were fairly new and I clean them regularly, it was crowded and I was sweating freely, but again that's hardly unusual. Only other factor I can think of is I've been playing flats at home but took basses strung with rounds last night.

I’m not saying the rounds are the main reason but,  I can play quite comfortably for 3 hours on flats , but my p bass has rounds and after about 30 minutes my fingers feel slightly sore ,  maybe it’s because I’m not used to them. 

Try some sudocrem on them it’s good for minor skin complaints it’s a antiseptic healing cream 🙂

• Like 2

9 minutes ago, Reggaebass said:

I’m not saying the rounds are the main reason but,  I can play quite comfortably for 3 hours on flats , but my p bass has rounds and after about 30 minutes my fingers feel slightly sore ,  maybe it’s because I’m not used to them. 

Try some sudocrem on them it’s good for minor skin complaints it’s a antiseptic healing cream 🙂