Why become a member? ×

How to play my bands songs better?

ButcherBass95

So the other day my guitarist said I need to play the songs he wrote better, thing is I've played them how he's told me to, I've thrown my own little twists in to some of the songs but he says they were his idea. any and all help is appreciated. 

Example

G:------------------------------¦
D:------------------------------¦
A:00--44--5555-7777¦
E:------------------------------¦

Basically that's one of the songs we play and that's all I play. Some parts i play single notes then on build ups I play the 7 faster with added plucks  I'm not very good at what it is I should be searching for I'm very slow and stupid when it comes to the bass but I can play the basics.

Cheers in advance.

If ask him to define better! Really pick him apart & put him on the spot by asking why he thinks what I'm doing with the line he written isn't cutting the mustard.

It would be very difficult for anyone to make recommendations on what you should try playing without first hearing what's going on harmonically with the song. But be assured, there's absolutely no reason why you can't groove the shiz out of four notes!

• 4 weeks later...

Strikes me that rather than falling out, the two of you are on the verge of starting to step up to the next level.

You need to tell him that you can add to the songs, but he needs to trust you and understand that you'll develop your style over time.

You don't say what style of music you are playing. If it's funk you are going to be putting in very different 'fills' to blues and if it's death metal you might want to simplify your bass lines (joke).

I'm not a flash bass player at all, but I love putting in little runs and decorations (just not at turbo speed).