Why become a member? ×

Short scale GAS

RobF

I'm a beginner, bedroom player, with a Squier VM jazz, a Fender  Kingman acoustic and an Epiphone EB0. 

Im finding playing the EBO soooo much more fun and I've a hankering to stick to shortscale with a Bill Wyman from the Bass Centre.

it will prob mean losing the Kingman ( too many guitars in the house according to she who must be obeyed.) 

tell me if I'm being stupid please. 

If it works for you then why not? I bought a short scale Gretsch Junior Jet 2 when I got back into playing bass a few months ago. Great little bass. Absolutely superb sounding, and an absolute dream to play,  but after a few months I found myself drifting back towards full scale and now I hardly play the Gretsch, which is a shame because I actually really love the little thing. I don't really know what my point is, except if you have the option, I would still keep a full scale in the arsenal, just in case. 

Owned and played many short scales in my time, really enjoyed the Gibson SG basses but always found what came practical for me in bands and comfort was a long scale (built like a brick stinky poo house!) But the shorties were really fun to play. Fender Mustangs are a good one to go to, too. Some fun designs and colours 😊 

There are some 'travel' or Ukulele acoustic basses as well, anything from Taylor, Ibanez, Kala and other brands, worth checking out if you enjoyed the acoustic. 

• 1 month later...

I'm a relatively recent convert to short scale and I've decided to make the move permanent - it's the most natural size bass for me.

Have to add that I find the short scales are fun comments a little misleading (unintentional I'm sure) as it could imply that short scales are novelty or toy basses. All basses can be fun and short scales can be just as bad donkey groove machines as their longer scaled brethren.

• Like 1

I recently bought a Squier VM Jaguar Special SS and I like it. It's my training/travel/spare bass.