Why become a member? ×

Osmonds Crazy Horses request

dmccombe7

4 minutes ago, dmccombe7 said:

We are doing Crazy Horses but can't seem to reproduce the keys siren at the start. I generally trigger all effects with my JamMan pedal. 

Does anyone have an MP3 sample of it by any chance that they would send me. ?

Dave

Can't you sample one of the local nags?

• Haha 1

8 minutes ago, Ashweb said:

I'm not an expert in these matters by a long way, but with a quick dig on Google, I found this...

http://forums.musicplayer.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/2126414/Crazy_Horses_Osmonds_keyboard_

There's a lot of chaff in there, but maybe some wheat too.  Hope it helps.

Went thru that thread and it tells the OP how to produce the sound using a synth but no actual sound clips i could use. I've tried several searches but still no accurate copy. I have found a synth copy but its not exactly rivetting stuff but would do as a last resort if i added some kind of effects to it

Thanks 

Dave

1 minute ago, Hobbayne said:

We do this one. We dont actually bother with that bit, we just start it off with the drums on their own.

We thought it was a bit naff anyway. 💩

That's how we did it at rehearsals but would be good to get the original siren sound if possible.

12 hours ago, dmccombe7 said:

Think it was a Yamaha ?? 30 keyboard or something similar with a portamento strip.

Dave

In the vids, Donny playbacks on a Yamaha YC-30 indeed.
Remarks by the band suggest that the same organ was used during the recording of the song, but I've always felt doubtful as I've never been able to recreate the sound on Ribbon Controller-equipped organs, and have never heard anyone else do it.
Can't help with an mp3. Sorry.

Edited by BassTractor
  • Thanks 1

Just having listened to the effect, I now think they used the Yamaha organ after all (and my doubt was about me forgetting I'd never owned organs with that sound character).