Why become a member? ×

Fret buzzing after 14th fret

wzz890831

Dear BCers,

I bought a musicman caprice few month back and here is the issue I have:

I have the neck set straight, the string have more than enough height on the board, standard EB string and standard tuning. When I play higher than 14th fret it start to buzz, I mean every position after 14th until the very last note. I'm not a pro but I'v been play for few years and never have such issue with my other basses. I'm living in China now (was studied in the UK for 6 years) and the dealer in China was a total d**k and refuse to help, so here I'm looking for any help or adv BCer can give me, was I'm being a total noob about how to setup my bass?

Cheers,

Otis

Fret buzz in the upper registers normally indicates the need for a straighter neck (less relief) but if you say that the neck is already straight and the string height is adjusted appropriately then perhaps your frets are not quite level?

Was this problem there from day one?  Assuming it was but keeping in mind that it can be difficult to diagnose without actually seeing the instrument, up close. If you definitely have the relief and string height/action otherwise correct, then I would suspect that the frets from around the 14th onwards, require levelling with a slight fall away. A job I have had to do on a fair few customer's instruments. Fairly straightforward with the correct tools and a careful approach, if you have neither, then take it to a guitar tech/luthier.:)

• Like 2

47 minutes ago, gary mac said:

Was this problem there from day one? 

Thanks for the reply gary mac, and yes, from day one. Since the bass was shipped from 1000 miles away, I wasn't surprised if there is a buzz or action problem. But since the time passed by, it bother me a lot once I started to like how the bass sounded. I will see if I can find a tech or luthier around me but I feel real bad about the after sale service.

1 hour ago, Aidan63 said: