Why become a member? ×

I've Been Playing Bass For 50 Years, So What?

Bluewine

29 minutes ago, Woodinblack said:

I am only 53 so I can't really say, but I just thought I would comment that in that picture, because you are leaning a bit, and your shirt is dark it looks like you are actually standing behind the amp, and the guitar has a fake set of legs attached to it!

I was going to say he doesn't move around the stage much - he's still in the same place as when he started the worst gigs ever thread! :D

I'm 52, 33 years of regular gigging, pretty much with the same guitarist throughout. I'd say that no matter how good you think you are you can always get better (assuming no health issues to trip you up). There's always room for improvement, both technically and musically. It's a journey with no end destination.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

At the earliest age possible;

Understand your strengths and weaknesses.

Understand what you want to do with your playing, teach, perform, write and what level you can realistically achieve.

Learn to recognize pitfalls and real opportunity.

Blue

Edited by Bluewine

1 hour ago, Woodinblack said:

I am only 53 so I can't really say, but I just thought I would comment that in that picture, because you are leaning a bit, and your shirt is dark it looks like you are actually standing behind the amp, and the guitar has a fake set of legs attached to it!

This is great advice for new bass players interested in adding legs to their bass  :)

Blue

Edited by Bluewine
  • Haha 1

40 minutes ago, Bluewine said:

I think us seniors have to accept the fact a lot of gigging protocol we grew up with are no longer relevant.

Blue

How so?? A lot of the gear has changed, you're less likely to get in a fight with the PA crew and there is the impact of social media, but beyond that things have stayed pretty much the same in many respects.