Why become a member? ×

Doublebass acquisition - URGENT HELP please

Armando Fonseca

Dear All,

I’m a musician since a kid (piano and bayan) but my “secondary dream” has always been to lear a few simples things of doublebass (walking bass, pizzicato, etc) so I’ve been trying to acquire a used one, which is the only option for economical reasons.

I would need the opinion of an expert though and took the liberty of sending this email expecting that you can be so kind to help me.

Fortunately an opportunity as finally come and I’ve found a CREMONA LUBY, Model 5/5, manufactured in 1977, and after contacting the manufacturer, they told me they haven’t any info, since it’s a "pre-Strunal” instrument, but if it has the same specs as the new one, it would be a Solist concert Double Bass, fully carved, solid Spruce top, solid Maple back and sides, fine Ebony trimmings, inlaid purflings, Rubner machine heads, Master endpin, D´Addario Helicore strings, flat back which would cost around 5.000€.

The problem is that I can see two “black lines” on the lower body on the pictures the seller has sent me, which seem to be fractures and that he can’t tell if are serious or not…

Even though it seems a good deal, since he’s selling it for 950€ (including bag and bow) I don’t know what to do… the question is if even with this problem it worth's over buying a 500€ “chinese model” or another option I have for 2.000€ (stentor).

Please kindly check the attached pictures and let me know.

I will sincerely appreciate all the support you can provide reinforcing the excellent opinion I have about this forum.

Looking forwards to hear from you.

Best regards,

Armando Fonseca 

Strunal_1.Strunal_2. Strunal_3.Strunal_4.Strunal_5.Strunal_6.