Why become a member? ×

New to Bass...

Cicero

Greetings folks

Despite having played guitar for many a year, I've always wanted to become a proficient bass player.

Unfortunately, I have, perhaps, only around a total an entire weekend's worth of playing time on the instrument, so, needless to say, I am a total beginner.

Having guitar playing experience is a bonus... It's also a hindrance as it's clear changing my mindset and approach to playing is an important starting point, especially with getting the basics right.

I've decided I will actually get lessons to begin with, just to get me off on the right track - something I never did with guitar.

My first query is around thumb position... Should I be anchoring it against another string, or should my entire hand be floating? Not sure which to commit myself to trying seeing as both seem to have pros and cons. I've noticed my playing seems very 'quiet' and lacks the conviction I want it to. Again this may be down to technique and the fact that I'm just not used to playing with my fingers this way. I have resisted using a pick. Advice?

Whilst I have modest goals, if I can at some point play Havona (one of my favourite tunes) I'll be more than happy 😎

In true 'putting the cart in front of the horse style' I bought myself a new P Bass (Fender Player), despite having an old Washburn gathering dust in a case somewhere:

IMG_7135 (2).jpg

• Like 2

The great thumb question.......... There are lots of schools of thought it seems. I won’t suggest which is the best as 1, there are many ways and different ones suit different players and 2, I would probably be lynched. I used a bastardised hybrid where my thumb sits on the pickup for the E and A string and then shifts to the E string for the D and G. It’s sort of a floating thumb for the clueless. I personally don’t like a fully floating technique but only play finger style. If you get fifty responses you will probably get 49 answers! Find one that’s suits you and enjoy.