Why become a member? ×

Warwick basses - when did they up their game?

Al Krow

Seen a Streamer Stage 1 up for sale on another forum which turns out to be a 2006 model. Looks gorgeous and I'm very tempted but...

At the back of my mind I've got a nagging feeling that Warwick went through a rough patch in terms of quality around 1996(??) to 2011(??), but then sorted themselves out, introduced the GPS and Masterbuilt ranges and the prices of their new basses rocketed from £800 to £2,500+ from 2012 to 2014.

Is any of that correct?

What were typically the concerns / issues with the pre-2011 basses?

Edited by Al Krow

I’m no expert but I can think of a few things from my own experience. 

They had some hardware problems including a terrible nut design that kept snapping off, these are easily replaced with the latest one though. Their hardware seems to tarnish really fast compared to other brands as well. 

For a while they changed the neck profile to a proper baseball bat, this got reverted back to a thinner style a few years later. 

Ive seen a few with warped and properly delaminated necks, I couldn’t say for sure if this was down to a particular time period or if it’s just luck of the draw. 

• Like 1