Why become a member? ×

I need some advice..

Kellboy

Hi all. Decided to put my post here as it isn't very specific.  

Apologies in advance as it might be a bit of a ramble. I've been playing bass for many years but over the last 10 or so it hasn't been very serious and my skill and very limited music theory knowledge is somewhat lacking and im starting over again.

Bass isn't my only and not most time consuming hobby as I'm also a big mountain biker and also have a young family. My point being is ATM. I'm only  commited to being a bedroom bassist.  

The reason I'm saying these things is so you get an idea of what level of commitment I am at. Basically I'm at a massive crossroads on wether to concentrate on a 4 or 5 string bass. Limited funds and space means I'd rather really only have one  instrument.  I like a wide variety of music and sometimes I'll play a song with the low B on occasion. However if I'm noodling I prefer the feel and lines of a standard 4 string.  The reason being is I do like playing some complicated slap stuff.  I currently own a 5 string Warwick Streamer and it has a narrow string spacing. It's an awesome instrument and is amazing for everything but slap ( for me) . It's currently up for sale so I can get a nice 4 string but I already have niggling doubts if that is the right choice. I know that wider spacing would help considerably but then I would need to find an instrument that does have wider spacing. Probably over 18mm. To further complicate the matter I usually play through headphones and haven't found any that have had the guts to handle the low B string.