Why become a member? ×

Drummer dilemma

Mickeyboro

I play in a club band where the material is nearly all 60s/70s classics. Not much for a bass player to chew on, but regular work.

Recently we have been playing everything a shade too fast. The effect is cumulative, so that by the second set some songs are ridiculously speedy (ever heard the Ramones doing Spirit in the Sky?)...

i have remarked on this in rehearsal, and last night after the third song I had a word with the drummer to rein it back a bit. At the end of the evening he confronted me, clearly very angry, and told me I had wrecked the show for him and that this should never be discussed at a gig. The tempos had improved but he managed to miss some cues, etc, so my comment had some effect, even if his confidence was shot.

So how do I approach this at the next rehearsal? How do you work with a drummer with that attitude, or is he being reasonable...?

Edited by Mickeyboro
Spelling

I'm a drummer and have the same kind of conversations in my band regularly. 

I found that the most positive messages from band members usually went along the lines of "Look, the timing of the band belongs to *you* as the drummer, YOU have your foot on the accelerator and brake and how fast we go is completely your domain. However, we can't all play as fast as you can so we need to be able to signal that we need it to go slower."

The next thing we did was have several practice sessions where we just concentrate on 'messaging' i.e. playing our usual tracks but getting different members of the band to signal a slowing down or speeding up and listening to the drummer drive the pace from that. It's like a game where the drummer is in control and different band members make 'speed up' or 'slow down' signals. We always over-emphasise the speed change so that all band members can clearly agree that it has sped up or slowed down. It's a lot of fun as a drummer because you actually feel like the driver in terms of speed.