Why become a member? ×

Hi from Glasgow.

Desbass

This is the equivalent of blowing into an SM 58 and saying "Is this on?" I hope i'm typing in the right place so I'll keep going and see what happens!

I've been playing bass since 1973 when my brother, who played in a folk band, asked me to swap my reed organ for an "ELECTRIC GUITAR" because he needed the keyboard for a couple of tunes. When the guitar arrived it turned out to be an Ibanez short scale bass and a Zenta practice amp and, even though I'm left handed, it was a right hand model and I've been playing back to front ever since! I have played in an assortment of bands since then from working mens social clubs to bands that wrote thier own stuff , rock and blues bands and now am playing in an "Americana" band doing everything from Hank Williams to Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats. I've been observing this group from the sidelines for a while and think that its mainly comprised of pretty decent , knowledgegable, and fun types of guys and gals so I've decided to sign up. Hope to continue to enjoy the banter and, despite the saying, "this old dog CAN learn new tricks! Cheers , Des