Why become a member? ×

Recording on your own

tom1946

For a long time I've wanted to record a few songs with around 5-6 instruments purely for my own amusement.

I have a Mac and said instruments but where do I start? I've never done this before and I'm aware that I need an interface to get the music from the instruments to the mac

but what to use? It needs to be simple and effective, I know Focusrite make lots of stuff but I have no idea what to buy, or software?

I have garageband somewhere and I tried that. I laid down one track and for the life of me couldn't work out how to switch the damn thing to track two. :facepalm:

Any help to get me started would be much appreciated.

tom.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Lots of options for you to choose from, overwhelmingly so in fact :)

My own suggestions would be:

1. Buy a Focusrite 2i2 interface (or if you can stretch to it the 2i4). Low latency, very reliable and the best bang you'll find for your buck$.
  2. Learn how to use Garageband. Many other softwares exist, but if you're struggling with Garageband then you're really going to struggle with something more advanced. Garageband is a great place to start and once you've got the hang of it, you'll be well versed to progress to other software in future if you wish (but you might find that Garageband does everything you need). If so, Apple Logic would be the..err... logical next step.

Final word: there's no shortcut to music production. You're going to have to invest some time in learning the basics and figuring out the necessary software/hardware. I personally find YouTube tutorials much more intuitive than reading manuals.

Hope that helps and visit the Recording forum here if you have any specific questions.

• Like 1

I don't really know anything about Macs but there's a free version of Ableton live lite that apparently works if you've got the right OS

https://www.ableton.com/en/products/live-lite/