Why become a member? ×

Real or fake Fender?

KAREL

This guitar is for sale, passed as a Fender Bass. It is rather lowly priced, so I am somewhat suspicious about the authenticity of this instrument. The tuners look different from any other type I have found online (especially the back). The scratchplate has some unused holes in it and the logo looks a bit fishy. However, I am no Fender expert (not in the least) so this could also just be an older model. Could someone shed some light on this please?

Karel

image.png.40d08bcd5e792e07f05bb956ab2f9837.png

image.png.9b9bfc458433777cabd2c56bf73d6dcb.png

image.png.1410ef31379a439fbb2ad838699b1b9c.png

image.png.387d6269580a0fb5b6b861f46a2a175d.png

image.png.e6470afd526115ec6451aac12c5141ac.png

Fake. Wrong tuners, crappy transfer logo, pick guard wrong shape & too many screws, trussed hole wrong shape, no truss rod plug in headstock, body shape looks wrong (tho hard to tell from these crappy photos - could be lens distortion). And thats just for starters. Best avoid B|

• Like 2

There's nothing about the headstock that looks right. Fender put the string tree closer to the A string machine head, shouldn't there be a serial number on the back of the headstock? Fender have never just put "Fender" on the headstock, there's always something else "Made in USA" , "Precision Bass" etc 
The spindle size on the machine heads is too small, I've seen those on some Chinese made Squiers.

Edited by Dom in Somerset

there's something weird going on with that nut as well,

looking closely at the headstock photo you can actually see where the old logo was scratched away, does it say "Encore"? - or Columbus ? 

early jap copy is my guess