Why become a member? ×

Tapes on a Jazz?

The59Sound

Hello all,

I have just joined a 70s rock covers band and am thinking of putting flats back on my Jazz. I usually use a Bearfoot Blueberry to get a bit of grit and having flats on the Jazz bass gives me a really nice 'vintage' tone (think JPJ on early Zep records).

I've always been curious about tapes and woud like to know how they differ from flats in feeling, tension and sound. I have no experience playing tapes but thought they would be quite similar to the flats I normally use. My nut has already been filed for thicker gauge strings so fitting tapes shouldn't be a problem.

Any help or advice welcome!

As a general rule, flatwounds are quite high in tension vs nylon tapewounds which are known for having a much lower tension. I guess the order of string tension from highest to lowest would be flatwounds > roundwounds > tapewounds. If you’re used to flats then tapes will be quite a change!

Edited by CameronJ
  • Like 1

Worth noting that a lot of Tapes can't be strung through-body.....so if you have a US Jazz (or similar) that allows for that, string it through the bridge instead.

But as mentioned, much lower tension than Flats and Rounds. I've become very interested in trying the LaBella Gold White Nylons on my 5 String Lakland, they seem very cool.

Si

My jazz Flea bass is wearing D’Addario tapewounds. Working for me at the moment. I am an big fan of Chromes but the tapes sound and feel better on the jazz. Chromes on pbass - fretted and fretless. Also look good! Big fan of Herbie’s playing and his bass. No nut adjustment needed with these tapewounds. 

Edited by Mister RLP

15 minutes ago, The59Sound said:

From what I’ve found online, Rotosound, La Bella, GHS, Fender and D’Addario all make tapewounds. Does anyone here have experience with those on a bass?

Rotos: very heavy gauge, may need nut filing, soft warm sounding, medium tension, yellow silks.