Why become a member? ×

Short Scale Bass Recommendations

Frank Blank

So, having gotten used to my Taylor GS Mini-e bass, in fact I am unable to put it down as it is more addictive than crack, I have come to realise that the vast majority of my bass playing woes over several years stem from my small hands vs. full scale bass necks. So I’ve decided to sell up all my full sized basses (Godin A4 and my new Aerodyne that’s barely a month old) and stick exclusively to short scale. I’ve been looking at a Gretsch G2220 but as I am a novice in the world of short scale basses I thought I better see if anyone has any recommendations or ideas. I have the Taylor and I’ll be getting a second as a back up but I want a short scale electric bass and as it will be my only EB I’d like as good quality as I can get...

Whaddya think?

48 minutes ago, AndyTravis said:

Saw these in PMT the other day...very cool

It really plays very well, much better than I expected. It’s got me looking at its big brother Jackson as my next full size bass. Pickups are good, fit is good, finish is good. Small imperfections but it’s better than a more expensive Ibanez I have.

I’m waiting for next pay day to buy the Randy Rhodes guitar version ;)

It depends how short you want to go, but I completely understand how you got addicted to your Taylor. You may have seen my Wingbass around these parts, and as a ‘around the house’ instrument, it’s absolutely brilliant. I thought it would feel silly and be a gimmick but I use it all the time and it sounds massive!

4 minutes ago, ped said:

It depends how short you want to go, but I completely understand how you got addicted to your Taylor. You may have seen my Wingbass around these parts, and as a ‘around the house’ instrument, it’s absolutely brilliant. I thought it would feel silly and be a gimmick but I use it all the time and it sounds massive!