Why become a member? ×

Hiya from a novice based in (very south) Aberdeenshire

Oomworthy

Hi.

I'm a 49 year old novice returning to actually picking up a bass after so many years. Have tried to learn a few times but always get too busy or reprioritised or some such excuse. This time I've put a little money into an Epiphone T-bird (in natural wood finish) and am trying to track down a local bass teacher, rather than another guitarist making some money on the side. I want to start from the beginning and get some good habits going right from the get-go.

I was briefly in a band at school - some of those guys did ok for themselves - and with a possible reunion coming up in the next year or so it'd be nice to be better than I was back then. I like all sorts of music but have always been drawn to significant bass parts and so love some funk.

I'm based near Edzell, just on the Aberdeenshire side of the river. Looking forward to picking up tips from the experienced players and sharing experience with the less-so players like me.

Cheers.

PS. that's not my bass, but it's what I've got.

image.png.938435081c6ec8307b120ef939701262.png

tbird bass 2.jpg

Edited by Oomworthy

Cheers, guys.

I started looking around the site and noticed some TV chat. I was about to join in then realised I'm a few episodes behind everybody else, so I bolted away.

I'm keen to hear recommendations for online lessons - I've looked at SBL and StudyBass already - but I'm keen to sit down with a real bassist and get some really basic pointers. The StudyBass site has some really interesting fundamental stuff and delivered in a way that got through to me like no book has before. I'm very aware that my technique is shockingly bad and therefore stopping me from progressing. I need somebody to sit in front of me and tell me what I'm doing wrong, and how to do it right.

You never know what Santa might bring me for Christmas - I've been an ok boy this year.

Here's my dogs.