Why become a member? ×

Hello from Spain!

dasitor

Hello! I have been using basschat as a source of information for some time now. I decided to register because of the yellow-note on the home page :)

I started playing bass in the 1980s. I did not care much about brands and stuff at that time, I was too busy playing and writing music, just as it should be! But I remember a Samick Jazz and a crappy Precision-type thing, among others. Then in the 1990s I got a Fender Jazz MIM fretless, which I traded for an Ibanez SR800 fretless, which I feel is built much better. Then I stopped playing for about 10 years. A few years back I picked it up again. Now I have the SR800FL and a Fernandes FRB100, plus several cheap basses I have bought here and there for testing parts and modding.

I tried playing jazz, but I just can't :(  . Also tried Death Metal, which is fun. But I think my style lies somewhere in the middle, if it means anything.

Thank you for keeping up this site!

• Like 2

Welcome Dasitor.

I feel the same way about jazz, i.e. 'I can't'.  With me it is more a case of I won't.

No disrespect to jazzers but Dame Cleo's scat put me off.  If a large woman got up and did that while I was playing I'd be mortified.

You'll have some interesting stories if you've been modding.  Have you seen the Build Diaries yet?

Thank you!

Yes, I checked the Build Diaries, but my projects are far less complex: my main tools are a 10 cm wood file and a solderer :)

About my jazz experience: There was a small jazz trio (drums, trumpet and piano) playing every Friday night near where I live. One day I approached them and they told me that they needed a bassist. "But my skills are limited", I said. "Don't worry. You'll learn as you play", said the pianist. "OK. When are you rehearsing?" "Oh, we don't. We practice at home, and then we meet here each Friday. Come close and watch what we play. That way you'll learn our repertoire."

Edited by dasitor
I have not finish!