Why become a member? ×

Middle aged learner

Little Dragon

Good evening, LD, and ...

JziD0WZ.gif

Plenty to read and amuse you here, and lots to learn and share. I, too, am a Grandad, and am still learning each and every day. It's true, it's never too late, but that's no reason for waiting around. Whatever it is, just do it..!

Try and find some other people to play with, you will be amazed how fast you will come on once you start fitting in as part of the whole picture as it were. You will also find that some songs are stupidly simple for the bass and they can help with the basics such as consistency and finger strength. Most of all just have fun!

Hello Little Dragon, and welcome to BassChat, from South Wales

I started playing as a young-ish guy. But I stopped playing for over 20 years - so it was like starting again from scratch, it really was
My 2nd spell of playing started as a middle aged bloke too.... and I'm enjoying it now more than ever :)

Good luck with it - stick at it, and just practice whenever you possibly can
Cheers

Marc

EDIT: Your progress might sometimes feel a bit slow, but there are times when you suddenly realise you have turned a corner
It's often difficult to assess how much progress you're making, but I'd suggest maybe taking just a lesson or two to help you on your way

Edited by Marc S

17 hours ago, Little Dragon said:

Hello from Geordieland. Just learning to play despite being a Granddad. Been told it's never too late.......

go for it, mister. I have small children; I'll be very much middle aged before I get to do much with my bass, so you're not alone. 

get yourself to an open mic night and take your bass. I guarantee you'll be the only bass player there, even if you don't play firs time. People will talk to you. Girls will swoon** etc