Why become a member? ×

Trace Elliot - talk to me

Funky Dunky

Maybe I'm willing to put up with the weight to get the heft.

What's a good place to start in the 2nd hand TE market? 100w minimum. If any TE afficianados can recommend a model and give me an example of a fair price range, that would be a great starting point. At the moment I'm just a bedroom bassist. If there's a bargain to be had, I'm all ears. If there's a bargain to be had in a giggable bass amp, even better.

Who loves Trace? Why? Which models bear consideration?

Just looking for info and recommendations ahead of a possible purchase in the new year. Budgetwise, I'll look into anything that can be had for under £300, be it separates or a combo.

Edited by Funky Dunky

For me the the built in SMX compressor is the star of the Trace Elliot show so I'd be looking at something in that range (What am I saying? I actually have one in that range :D)

As far as the weight goes, the combos are often a bit of a back breaker but my AH350SMX head is perfectly manageable and if it's a short walk into the venue from my car I'll often take it in one hand with a bass in the other so not that bad at all (and I'm not a big guy).
The weight is definitely worth it for that Trace sound IMHO.

If you can get hold of a SMX head, snap it up. The 250 (also often listed as 280) is the most manageable version but has all of the key bells and whistles that the range is renowned for. Louder than you will ever need and as versatile as any head available.

If you can’t get a SMX, the SMC heads come a close second. Failing that, the majority of old school TE heads will genuinely p**s all over modern competitors.

Do I sound a little biased?

Edited by Deedee

Another vote for the SMX 250. Awesome. @DeeDee got me hooked! It sounds fantastic, very very flexible and as DeeDee says, there is so much power there. Don't be put off by the Watts figure , these are hugely loud amps.

The cabs also sound amazing but are heavy.