Why become a member? ×

New practice room/home studio

Damonjames

Hey everyone!!!

So I am about to embark upon a little project now that our extension is almost finished. In the rejig of downstairs, I have managed to carve out a little practice room with the new layout.

So firstly, don't expect much!! It is a TINY space, but it will be enough for my needs, but hopefully I can document some things that might be useful to other basschatters.

There will be three goals here

1. Stopping noise coming out of the room to the rest of the house. Like most of us, I practice mostly at night so need to not wake the kids up!

2. Acoustic treatment of the room to maximise recording quality. This may have some hurdles here as I am also new to the home recording scene!

3. Making the room a cool/funky place to hang out and be creative. As it is wedged in between the garage and lounge, I won't have a window, so I will need to be creative to make it a place I want to spend time rather than a suicide chamber. As I have said, it's kind of a makeshift space so there are some issue I need to work around.

I will put up some pics and drawings over the next few days and would appreciate any input/advice from people who have tried a build like this before!!

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1503065006' post='3355468']
How big is the room and how are you intending the ventilate it?

Remember that conventional ventilation is very much at cross-purposes with sound insulation!
[/quote]

Haha, I have tried to consider this, but it is still part of the evolution lol. When I get to up load the drawings, you will see that the entrance to the room will be through the garage, so I'm hoping that I can sacrifice some sound bleed for some fresh air lol

Studiospares have done some interesting blogs on soundproofing.

http://proaudioblog.co.uk/2017/04/easy-soundproofing-home-studios/