Why become a member? ×

Learning scales at last

bonzodog

I am a self taught bassist/guitarist. Spent my youth playing in originals bands and after a long break i am now in my 40s playing in a covers band. In all bands I've never needed to learn much theory and especially now I just learn the bassline to the song we are covering.

Kids are a bit older now and wife is always out so I decided to go back to basics and learn a load of scales, dorian, locrian etc
Wow...what a revelation. I have never enjoyed playing bass this much and can hardly put it down. Stick my earphones into my amp linked up to you tube for some jamming backing tracks in a chosen key and I'm in heaven. Noodling for hours!!

Anyone else gone back to learning scales many years after picking up the bass?

If you are having fun and enjoying yourself..best of luck to you. :) It will certainly help with ear training. However, while there is no doubt that scales are important, IMO it would be more beneficial to concentrate on chord tones, as this is what the bassist plays 90% of the time. Learn how chords are derived from scales and how to harmonise the major scale. This, IMO would be better than playing modes, which are generally left until the basics are under the belt.

Check out this lesson from "Studybass".

https://www.studybass.com/lessons/bass-chord-patterns/chord-tones-are-primary/

Further to my earlier suggestion about learning to harmonise the Major scale....:

The link below explains this. It is part one of a set of three. If you don't understand the terminology he uses or if you are completely in the dark as to what he is talking about... (whole steps..half steps etc)... you will have to go and start at "ground zero". That "Studybass" site will help you here. Go to the study guide, start at the beginning, and work your way through the lessons.