Why become a member? ×

Band names - how did you come up with yours?

AdamWoodBass

Hey everyone

So I've been playing with an originals Funk/Fusion type band for a couple of months. It's my absolute privilege to play with these guys as they're some of the most talented musicians I've ever had the chance to play with and this band has almost immediately become the BEST band I've ever played for. Everyone on the same page, everyone equally as passionate about the project and already some really cool material coming out of only a handful of practices. But I digress...

Last night during a coffee break we were talking about band names. We're all the type that will deliberate and lose sleep over the "right" name that sounds cool and not crap. I frustrate myself with it when I think about it as a band name's just a name right? If people listen to your music and enjoy it the name becomes just a label right?

Anyway we have a few "working title" names which we're living with at the moment to see if we like them. My question is two fold:

1) Are you like me and massively over think coming up with a band name or do you just pick something and move on?

2) How did you come up with your band name? Amusing anecdotes welcome!

Cheers

Adam

Unfortunately my pleas wrt band name have by and large been ignored and I've ended up playing in bands with CRAP names. The one exception is the jazz quartet I mostly play with these days, 'The Fox Hollies Set'. This name was derived from Fox Hollies Farm the family home of our female saxophonist.

I think it's important to get the right name that you all feel good about, something that connects.

Edited by grandad

I am like you, and probably overthink it.
Took a lot of time to come up with something we all liked.
Strangely, we thought some of the names were better suited for originals bands, rather than function bands. I didn't even realise that was "a thing".