Why become a member? ×

NBD Mensinger Speesy

Fisheth

Thought I'd do a quick post on this, as I've just received this bass, but wanted to give some thoughts.

I'm primarily a Metal bassist and I felt that there was a lack of any flying V shapes among the big boys, so I did some searching and a few brands came up, one of which was Mensinger, who are the same builders as Maruszczyk (say that after a few beers) under a different name.

Which is great as you're still dealing with Adrian throughout the whole process, who is superb to deal with. I've got no qualms with him. However if you're going to email him, be prepared for some blunt sounding and short sentences, due to his English knowledge, but he was very good with communication and other than a slight barrier it was fine.

In terms of specs I went with:

Alder Body
Green Burst
Trapezoid inlays
Maple Finger board
set neck
Delano PVC 4 FE/M2
Custom U shaped neck profile
Reversed headstock

(I don't have any photo's outside of this one, so here you go)

After a Fed Eex mishap (these happen) I was meant to receive the bass yesterday, but I didn't and it came today. So I've only just picked it up.
But wow, it's everything that I asked for.

Including the little detail of the reverse headstock, I felt that the one the standard model has would have been a bit thrashy for what my band play, so I asked if I could get it reversed and more like a typical Jackson headstock and the response was "OK" Which I thought meant was for "OK I've acknowledged it" I forgot about it and got a nice suprise.

The Delano pickup has a Stingray type edge to it. Which is nice, it's got a bit of grind but it's still very musical and articulate through my CTM 100.
But I may swap it out for a Duncan SPB4. But I think I'll leave it in for now and give my ears time to adjust to it.