Why become a member? ×

Whats wrong with my sound? yes, I need help, cheers

Che

Im new to bass and am trying to get the sound right. Especially the low end which I never used to this extent for my guitars (yes I come from guitar background).

I played this improvisation through my 'Zoom B1on' multi fx pedal and then into Reaper. It seems to sound "wrong". It sounds strange kind of numbing in my ears.

I need your experienced ears to tell me what you hear here being wrong.

Details;
Jazz Bass with new D'addario 45-100 Nickle strings
'Zoom B1on' via 'Behringer U-Phoria UM2' (I used Hi-Z input) and then into 'Reaper'

[url="https://soundcloud.com/papa-dusko/bass-improvisation-on-zoom-b1on"]https://soundcloud.c...on-on-zoom-b1on[/url]

Thanks

Edited by Che

[quote name='Che' timestamp='1444578044' post='2884237']... tell me what you hear here being wrong...
[/quote]

Nowt.

Any other questions..?

OK, I'll expand slightly. It's completely subjective, hearing a 'solo' bass (or 'solo' any instrument, really...). Context is all. If that's supposed to be how you want it to sound, alone, solo, then all I'd say is that, for my tastes, I'd use much less reverb. Other than that, and from an EQ perspective, there's nothing wrong with that at all. 'Twould be a different kettle of fish if there was a drum/guitar/key/horn section alongside. Still a judgement call, of course, but at least there'd be other stuff filling in (or fighting for...) sonic space. 'Solo', anything goes.
This may not be what you're wanting to hear. Sorry.

([i]Disclaimer: I'm an old, deaf, drummer...[/i] :blush: )

Ok I see. I thought Bass is to sound like a Bass (solo or not) :) thats the impression I've got from Bassists. And if there isnt enough low end in the sound it lacks "b.lls"