Why become a member? ×

It was 50 years ago today. . . . . .

chris_b

Chaps,

I never thought I'd ever see this day, so I think a little celebration is in order.

50 years ago today (just after lunch) I walked into Maurice Plaquet's music shop in Acton, West London, with £22 10/- in my pocket and bought my first bass, a Framus small body Star Bass. 6 weeks of hard graft on my Grandfather's nursery in Kent paid for it.

It was easy to play and I played it at home for a year before I could afford an amp. Everything I know today I started on that bass. Unfortunately it began falling apart almost from day one. With an ever increasing number of repairs and mods I played that bass for 2 years and only stopped using it when I joined a pro band.

[url="http://s293.photobucket.com/user/chris_b_photo/media/CopyofFSBme2.jpg.html"][/url]

I've been a pro bass player twice, made a few records, been to some interesting places, played some great gigs in great bands with some fantastic players. I've also played in places and in bands that weren't any of those things. Ho hum!

I have no idea where the time has gone. Anyway, my life started with that bass.

Here's to the next 50.

• Like 11

The bass fell apart and finally went to the dump when my parents moved house, about 15 years ago. It wasn't playable by the end.

The guitarist in my first school band is still rocking, in Ipswich and at least one of the guys from my second school band are still playing. I'm playing my first gig next week with a new project run by a singer and guitarist who I've known since I was 11. We were at the same secondary school. Might turn into a good little band.

• Like 1

Thanks for a great memory.