Why become a member? ×

Looking for Advice on Strings

BruceBass3901

Hi guys,

I've had a read of quite a few topics on strings but still not sure where I should be heading, so thought just asking would be the best bet...

I'm just starting out on double bass after several years playing electric and am looking at changing out the steel strings that came on my bass (secondhand) for something a bit more slap friendly as they seem quite high tension and harsh on my fingers.

I'm looking to play slap mainly, with a bit of piz. I fancy trying arco at some point but I know that getting strings for all three will be tricky, so I shall focus on the slap and piz for now.

I like the quite bright sound that my current strings get piz, but the tension is too high for learning to slap with. No idea what my current strings are... they have light blue silks at the tailpiece with yellow, red, green and black at the peg box. Very smooth feel to them under my left hand which I like.

I have been looking at the Innovation strings that seem to get a lot of love around here, but can't decide between the silver/gold slaps or the rockabilly set.

Could anybody point me in the right direction?

I'm going to measure the speaking length of the string when I get home as my teacher has described by bass as a 'small 3/4 size.'

Thanks in advance!

I currently use Spirocore Weichs
They are low-ish tension, and you can bow with them
I think they're still a bit harsh on my fingers for proper slap style though....

On my last bass I had Innovation "Silver Slaps" which were much better for slap,
but not good for bowing....
These are chunkier strings, and are nylon coated, with a sort of rope core, I believe
Innovation also do a set called "Rockabilly" which are also suited to Slap (as you may have gathered)

It's a whole different world of choice, from that of Bass Guitar eh?

Good luck & let us know what you discover

BTW. Innovation strings are also rather cheaper than most steel strings....