Why become a member? ×

Mix advice, 2nd opinions required

MoonBassAlpha

I think I've got the cymbals a bit loud and maybe the snare too quiet, what do you guys think?
Sorry it's a bit long, and a little proggy
Damn, cant get the link to Dropbox working. I'll try Soundcloud tomorrow, too late tonight!

I'm not really trusting my ears or my monitors at the moment. :(

Comments welcomed
Cheers
MBA

Edited by MoonBassAlpha

[quote name='MoonBassAlpha' timestamp='1396139088' post='2410415']...Comments welcomed...[/quote]

Good morning, MBA...

[i]Disclaimer: I'm well-known for the clothness of my ears...[/i]

Excellent, from all points of view..! Composition, arrangement, execution, production... Not much to throw out there. I've listened to many an album much, much worse than this (no names, but some are quite famous..!).
For your specific query, and understanding that a) - I'm primarily a drummer and B) - my ears are not best in cymbal frequencies, I'd say that's a pretty good mix in general. I'd bring up the toms a touch, his little fills have little impact (which is a shame, imo...) and I'd beef up the kick a spot, too. The biggest thing, though, to me, is the phonic seperation of the drums in general from the rest. They are too dry, especially as there's quite a fair amount of treatment on the guitars and voices. The drums seem to being played in a different room. No big problem, and as much a choice of production as anything else; the piece certainly stands 'as is' perfectly well.
I'm not sure how much this is going to help you, except maybe to assure you that there's not that much wrong with your ears or your gear if you're pleased with what you've captured there. There's definitely no glaring error in the mix.
Hope this helps; thanks for sharing. I enjoyed listening (several times...). Well done, all of you (I'm assuming, perhaps wrongly, that this is not a 100% solo performance...).