Why become a member? ×

Recording newbie requires help.

bedrovelse

Hi Guys. I'm pretty new to this recording game.

Here's what I've got going at the moment.

Instrument -> Behringer USB Guitar Link -> Garageband.

The quality of the recording is not that great and the bass tone (or lack of) is not so good, and I want to dabble into making some music. Instrumental style, with keys, drums. (Drums from samples or made using the software)

I'm also looking at maybe sacking Garageband and using Reaper, as I've heard good things on BC.

What can I use to replace my Behringer? As I just don't feel it's working.

Any information on best cause of action, will be appreciated.

Thanks.
If I've missed something you need to know, let me know.

What you need to replace your Behringer depends on how many channels you're wanting to record. I use a Lexicon Alpha, which is just a stereo USB interface (Guitar and mic input, or line level for keyboards), running into Reaper, and i do all of my tone shaping using VST's in Reaper. I wouldn't recommend the Alpha though. It is a good interface, but there's much better out there, such as the Focusrite Scarlett series and M-Audio stuff.

Liam

[quote name='JamesFlashG' timestamp='1374227255' post='2146581']
I use Focusrite saffire pro 24 DSP - would recommend it or any other Focusrite gear - Built well, looks great and sounds even better. PM your email address i can send you a few samples recorded using it if you like.
[/quote]

although there is still much better quality out there if you wanna spend some serious bucks

Hi, I wouldn't be in a rush to ditch Garageband. It's famously newbie-friendly, and I recently learnt that Donald Fagen does his demos using it!

However if you buy a new interface you may find it's bundled with a cut-down/trail version of another DAW, so you'd be able to play/explore/compare with GB before taking the plunge.

[quote name='bedrovelse' timestamp='1374228125' post='2146595']