Why become a member? ×

Is an 810 too big for pub gigs

Damonjames

Hey guys, I'm new to doing pub gigs and I'm hoping my band will be up and running soon so have a question, is an 810 cab to big for pub gig?? I'm looking to trade up to an all ampeg setup but wondering if it will be overkill. At the end of the day it has te same footprint as a 410....

Edited by Damonjames

All depends on the size of the pub, and the size of the band. You certainly don't [i]need[/i] an 8x10 any more (I had one a long time ago) for volume - there's plenty of much smaller kit which will do the job, but hey, if you wanna stand in front of one (and don't mind lugging it around), go for it!

Edited by Muzz

[quote name='Damonjames' timestamp='1370291870' post='2098817']
Hey guys, I'm new to doing pub gigs and I'm hoping my band will be up and running soon so have a question, is an 810 cab to big for pub gig?? I'm looking to trade up to an all ampeg setup but wondering if it will be overkill. At the end of the day it has te same footprint as a 410....
[/quote]

Foot print is the same as a 4x10 but it won't be long before the other guys in the band tell you to stick it when you need a hand carrying into/out of venues. I go for a single 12 and the PA. Sounds great and I can carry my rig with no help needed. Keeps band friendships friendly lol!

As others have said, I too think it depends on the space you expect at venues and how easy you want transport, movement, etc to be. We're just three instruments (guitar, bass, drums) + vocals with a standard size drum kit and 2x12 guitar combo but I still often only get sufficient space to stand a 2x10 on its thin end. Manoeuvring 2x10 size packages into and out of a recent pub gig was fine but an 8x10 would have been pretty tricky. But maybe we just play cosy pubs!

Yes. You'll look ridiculous and I have difficulties bringing my 1x10 combos in and out of pubs let alone a stinking great 8x10 fridge!