Why become a member? ×

The guitar that no one loves

fumps

Hi guys

About two years ago my older brother was doing some work for a land fill company & in a skip he found a battered & unloved electric guitar, so he calls me up & asks me if i wanted it. Feeling sorry for the poor thing I asked him to bring it over.

So I acquired a yellow Hondo Les paul special thinking that someone would want to give it a good home. Anyway after asking around & even putting an advert in the local gumtree as a free to a good home item someone would snap this up. Not a single bit of interest about giving this little dude a new home, so it went up into my loft & got forgotten about until last weekend when i was taking the xmas trimmings down & i spot it in the corner of my eye.

So I've decided to clean it up & give it a new lease of life. but to be honest I've never done this before. The way i see it is that i get to learn about repairing a guitar that has cost me nothing & when i have finished someone will get a free workable guitar, I'm hoping to find a young person who may use the guitar as inspiration to learn & start their journey into music.

So what I'm planning on is replacing the tuning pegs, bridge, maybe even the pick ups or at least check & make good the electrics.

For a novice do you guys think if this is possible for me or am i getting ideas above my station ?

A bit about the guitar :
It's a Hondo, Definitely a Les Paul shape but does not have a scratch plate, it's in bright yellow. Apart from the dirt on it the body is fine & free of any dinks or bad scratches. I have checked the neck & it looks fine but then again I am no expert. I plugged it in but could not get sound through the amp so i think it may need rewiring or even the pups replacing.

Edited by fumps

Yeah do it! Go to [url="http://guitarfetish.com/"]Guitarfetish[/url] and order everything you need at a nice price, grab a soldering iron and a few basic tools and create....