Why become a member? ×

suitable extension cab for GK MB150

wriggers

[quote name='wriggers' timestamp='1352317984' post='1861647']
Hi all

Thomann are selling the GK 212MBE rated at 600W @8 ohms. Would this be a suitable/good match for my MB150s. Please bear in mind that anything too technical becomes like driftweed in my mind. Hope that I can get an answer from you lovely people

Cheers

Paul
[/quote]

Maybe - maybe not.

Mixing driver sizes (i.e. 12" and 15") and mixing driver types - eg. 2 different types of 12" drivers - produces unpredictable results.
A matching driver - 115 akin to the 150s's will likely be a safer bet.

I am no expert but that's the advice I've heard repeated in these threads. The 112MBX extension cab [url="http://www.gallien-krueger.com/products/combos/"]http://www.gallien-k...roducts/combos/[/url] may work with it - It's from the same line, but is a 112 rather than a 115 - if matched it may work. Kind of like the Compact and Midget stack from barefaced:

Sorry if I got slightly technical. Hope you get a good match.
I'd recommend contacting GK directly, as they will probably have advice on this.

EDIT: Wait a second! the MB150s isn't a 115 cab!
The MBX extension is probably the one to go for IMHO.
http://www.thomann.de/ie/gallien_krueger_mbx112.htm

Edited by PlungerModerno

[quote name='wriggers' timestamp='1352393718' post='1862546']
Thanks for that Mr PlungerModerno. Email back from GK also said MBX112. So it looks like it will be one of those lads. They're a bit more expensive than the 212MBE's but hey ho!
[/quote]

The mbx's are from an older line - which is aimed at more studio type stuff (like the MB150s and similar combo's).