Why become a member? ×

Small and lightweight: what should I look into?

1976fenderhead

I'd like to change into a small amp and lightweight cab(s). I've been using an SWR 350x for many years but find it a bit too transparent, would like something with more warmth and personality, something adding a little more colour, valve-like character and punch. What brands/models should I look into? For design and features alone, TC Electronic's stuff looks very appealing but what about the sound?(haven't tested it yet...) Hope you can help. Thanks.

Didn't get on with the TC at all. I grew to dislike it intensely.

The Streamliner was far better, but it didn't work for me at volume - the dynamics seemed to suffer.

Mesa Walkabout does it fer me. It's a bit heavier and larger than the micros, but it's not big by any means.

Edited by wateroftyne

Without a doubt you should definitely try the Orange Terror Bass - much more grunt than the Streamliner. Not tried the Walkabout though but never heard a bad word said about them except for the fan noise, which is fixable.

Edited by dannybuoy

[quote name='1976fenderhead' timestamp='1338734414' post='1678589']
That does look very interesting, and I tend to like the Mesa models in Line 6, if that's worth anything... What cabs do you use with it? And why did you grow to dislike the TC?
[/quote]

I use Berg HS210s.

I disliked the TC because I hated the way it crushes dynamics. Some might call it 'tube-like'(!)... I call it squishing the life out of of the output to get away with saying it's a 450w head.

Fan noise on the Walkabout has never been a problem for me - I've had two.

If you want to, I would definitely try the RH450 or 750. They have really impressed me at gigs since day one and the DI is fantastic.

It's implementation of tube tone is a love/hate thing. I personally like it. It's very 'middy' and punchy in my opinion, whereas the Genz is more bloomy and bass heavy.