Why become a member? ×

To Tube or not to Tube...

bassickman

Ok, my best friend is a guitar freak. He always talks about how tube amps are the only way to get a quality sounding electric guitar and how solid state amps are just useless for a guitarist!

But I'm a bassist...

There are such things as tube bass amps but are they the only way you will reach quality tone to it's highest level...

???

Sound is very subjective. Some people love the super Hi Fi sound you can get from digital amps and others love a bit of grit in their sound. I've bought and sold four amps in the last 18 months looking for the sound and portability I wanted and I think I've found it now with the Ashdown MiBass I've just bought. Two of the four amps I had were fitted with valves in the preamp and two weren't.
If you're going for a rocky sound or you're planning on playing Stranglers or Motorhead covers turning up the gain and getting a distorted sound may come in useful for you but if you're not it's probably a bit pointless. I certainly wouldn't pay extra for a valve preamp.

NO. Ampeg and Boogie are iconic amps and sound best..to me.. if you can plug in and go...
I tend not to like the EQ stages, esp the Ampegs, but do like the full-on valve power...I just can't be arsed to carry it for one thing..or maintian it. Have you tried to lift one..?
If that was someone elses problem, then I would be condusive to either for SOME gigs.

Some people try to get round this by introducing a valve stage to the pre amp design and this can do a reasonable job.
Others use simulation from all SS and that can be variable. Thunderfunk's effort isn't too bad..but I stick with their clean tone anyway.

If you like grind, then the compromise on mantenance and carry is the hybrid, and I prefer this approach to pedals, tbh.
To service valve amps can be pretty expensive and frequent, whereas a hybrid valve pre...you might not have to touch that valve for 10 years or so,...