Why become a member? ×

Good "Standard" Jazz electric bass players

jackotheclown

So I'm studying on a BA Jazz course down in London, I play bad ass walking lines on my electric bass. At the start of the course I was under quite a bit of pressure to play the Double Bass, I tried it and found it wasn't really my thing. I mean its a beautiful instrument in its own right but not for me. I also feel like that I wanna make the electric swing and play it so good that a lot of people wanna play with me. I constantly transcribe walking lines from Double bass players such as Sam Jones, Ray Brown, Ron Carter and Paul Chambers among many others, but I wanna check out what electric bass players have done with walking bass lines. I'm a massive Jaco fan like so many of us are and I have checked out his playing with Metheny when they played some standards and he just kills man! However I wanna hear some more electric players playing through good ol' standards such as There is no greater love, A Train, All the things you are, Days of wine and roses and so on. You know what I mean, I just don't know who to listen to! Please could anyone reccomend me some cats to check out. But don't just say a load of people who own at electric eg. Stanley Clarke, Christian McBride (also these guys mostly play double when it comes to walking) I would like people to reccomend me people they have heard play standards.

Cheers!

Jeff Berlin and Laurence Cottle are the first two guys I think of with regards to jazz players
on electric bass....they both swing like crazy.There's players like Janek Gwizdala too,although
he doesn't,by his own admission,really play any straight ahead jazz

[quote name='Doddy' timestamp='1331560220' post='1574752']
Jeff Berlin and Laurence Cottle are the first two guys I think of with regards to jazz players
on electric bass....they both swing like crazy.There's players like Janek Gwizdala too,although
he doesn't,by his own admission,really play any straight ahead jazz