Why become a member? ×

P/J pros and cons?

Cairobill

First off, I'm a precision novice but recent sessions using a great 1977 P has me thinking about adding a P style bass to my gear.

I have an awesome jazz neck that I am going to get a body made to match and I'm considering going the P/J route with a precision body.

I'm hoping for a bass that combines the thump of a P with the tonal colour (when needed) of mixing in some bridge pickup.

Anyone know of the pitfalls of such a design or have any recommendations for pickup matching and pickup suggestions to get a good growly, thumpy P tone?

Body wood will be alder and the neck is a maple board. The neck has some heft to it and a good heavy tone to it.

Cheers!

Nick

Pitfalls... it won't sound like a jazz..... and look for a split J pickup or something that wouldn't hum.
Pickups, nordstrand?
or actually I would try get my hands on whatever overwater/tanglewood put in their passive PJ bass. Amazing sound from them.

Edited by LukeFRC

J pickup-wise, I`d go for the Seymour Duncan Hot Stack. Hum-cancelling, same pickup Duff McKagan uses. Sounds very Fender-ish indeed, just a bit more of everything, plus no hum.

P Pickup - apparently 70s Precision pickups are meant to sound a little scooped, so if you really liked the 77, see if maybe Wizard Pickups can wind a pickup to resemble this?

Only cons really are, as mentioned, you need a hum cancelling J to be hum free and you can't get the slightly in-between tones as you would from a jazz setup (neck p'up slightly rolled off or bridge p'up slightly rolled off). I'd go for a switch rather than 2 volumes myself. 2 P pickups interests me, and might blend better than P+J... I rather like James Lomenzo's custom shop Yamaha BB - 2 P pickups and a big old mudbucker at the neck. Sounds gnarly!

Edited by Bigwan

IMO the Jazz p'up doesn't add enough extra to warrant routing and doing the work to an existing bass. On a scratch built/pre made P/J bass then fair enough!