Why become a member? ×

Do I have a problem with my new GK amp and cabs

BH12neil

Hi,

Hope everybody out there in bassland is having a good Christmas and looking forward to the new year.

Here's my question:-

I have just taken delivery of a GK 1001RB-II amp and two GK cabs; a Neo 212II and a Neo 115III. I've wired them up for the first time using the speakon cables provided to find that there is a gentle hissing/hum coming out of both the cabinets, its not loud but it is irritating. I have changed all the leads over in all the various conatations and have tried setting up in the full range mode, none of these actions has illiminated the noise.

Now I am new to this sort of kit and I don't know whether this low level noise is normal or whether somewhere along the line there is a problem with either the cabs or the amp. Common sense tells me that the cabs should be silent but perhaps this is not the case.

I have to say I am really frustrated by it because it has taken months for the amp and cabs to be delivered to me and the last thing I want to do is get involved in returning items if there isn't a problem but if there is, obviously I want to sort it out now. Any advice on what might be the problem, if indeed there is a problem, would be really appreciated.

BH12neil

[quote name='BH12neil' timestamp='1324947529' post='1478738']
I have just taken delivery of a GK 1001RB-II amp and two GK cabs; a Neo 212II and a Neo 115III. I've wired them up for the first time using the speakon cables provided to find that there is a gentle hissing/hum coming out of both the cabinets, its not loud but it is irritating. I have changed all the leads over in all the various conatations and have tried setting up in the full range mode, none of these actions has illiminated the noise.