Why become a member? ×

Sweet

dmccombe7

Just read the thread on Slade and always thought them and Sweet were very under-rated.
Anyone else got any thoughts on Sweet especially some of their B sides which were very heavy Deep Purplish IMO.

All came across as good fun but there was a serious side to them and some obvious talent.

Aaah fond memories from my early teenage yrs just flooding back.
Sweet were one of the main reasons i got into heavier rock music and away from usual chart drivel of the 70's.

Dave

Edited by dmccombe7

They looked like brick layers in makeup frankly. :) But they made a few decent singles, i remember them all. Never heard an [i]album[/i] of theirs though. Cant even recal any LP covers, which is odd, as like most kids from that early 1970s era, I spent hours every weekend going through the racks in WHSmiths.

Edited by daz

i never thought much of them until a neighbour of mine discovered I was a bass teacher, expressed an interest, and with my encouragement joined a glam rock band.
Fast forward a few months and lessons with him involved listening to, and teaching him Sweet numbers. It was at that point that I realised that they were actually a tremendous live act, and an utterly rocking band!

They were all serious rockers at heart. Saw the sadly departed Brian Connolly fronting his own band called Connolly. I think it was a Van Halen gig and they were supporting (memory going so may not have been VH) and they rocked. He could still do it.

As musicians, Sweet were definately ahead of the game in their day.

I went to school with Malcolm McNulty's daughter. Malcolm later played in Sweet (and Slade, so it seems).

He was a really nice guy, and arranged a couple of pub gigs for us when I played punk covers as an angry 14/15 year old. I remember his girl telling me who he used to play for and it not having much of an impact on me - I couldn't name many acts from the 70s in my Rancid/NOFX/Green Day era. My dad got pretty excited though!