Why become a member? ×

Free Youtube bass lessons For beginners

Davemarks

Hey all,

I've started posting a new series of video lessons which goes through basslines from well known songs that are simple but musical and very effective.

The first one is 'With Or Without You', by U2.

[url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOz4rXrARGc"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOz4rXrARGc[/url]

It's ideal for anyone who's just picked up the bass and is also a great exercise for anyone starting to develop their technique with a plectrum.

Students - feel free to work from it and teachers, feel free to use it to help your students.

More comng soon include Smells like teen spirit (Nirvana), Walking On The Moon (The Police) and Peaches (The Stranglers).

Feel free to post more suggestions,

Dave

Dave many thanks for this.

I am a beginner and found a few clips that were really useful for me on youtube. Especially one on scales, I watched it twice and I could remember the 3 scales he was showing straight off.

Will give this a spin later mate.

Hi Dave

I watched the lesson on With or Without You which makes the whole thing simple.

I would go from D (A string 5 fret) to A ( E String 5 fret) to B (A string 2 fret) to G (E string 3 Fret) and maintain the box pattern. Do you have any preference on the way this is done?. The tutor book prefers playing "close together" to avoid jumping all over the neck.

Steve

Perhaps I should post a comment under the video - I have mentioned this in the pdf download...

On the original recording you can hear Adam Clayton sliding around from one note to the other - particularly from G back up to D.

I believe he played the line on the low E string because the notes sound larger and rounder and have a more uniform tone if you play them all on the low E string.

If you compare your open D string to D on the 5th fret of the A string and then to D on the 10 th fret of the E string, you should hear the note sounds progressively larger and more bass heavy.