Why become a member? ×

Line6 Bass Pod XT??

Jayfaedoom

Another question from me about what equipment to buy.

I am really needing to get a decent effect unit. I am very tempted to go for the Line6 Pod Xt Live, the floor pedal version as i feel it would be my playing / sound more depth and would enable me to get some cool effects on the go for the clean bits in songs and also get a good overdrive sound. Plus use it live and in the studio. The questiona i have are,

is the Pod XT Live worth the money?

How good is it?

Anyone one got one and use it for gigging etc..?

Am i better spending more money and going for the rack mount Bass XT Pro? and if i go for this can i just plug it striaght into a cab or do i need a preamp or head?

or is there a better unit out there?

so many questions i know but i am new to all of this....

any advice / help would be great.

thanks

Hi mate,

I am a MASSIVE fan of the XT. I have the rack version (it is only a pre-amp so if you intend to use it with a set of speakers you will need a power amp or to plug it into the input of a combo) and I love it dearly! It replaced a full tube mesa rig and compliments a nice valve combo at the moment. Don't get hung up on the digital vs tube debate - judged on their own merits they are both fantastic.

I personally wouldn't bother with the LIVE version, because you have to spend a long time editing things and having the interface on the floor can be a pain - unless you are close to a computer/laptop in which case you can use the very good line6 edit programme. The best thing is to get the rack or bean version then get an FBV shortboard for it. i just picked one up from the states for £100.

There is a really interesting thread about the unit here: [url="http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=192530"]http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=192530[/url]